Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Published May 13th 2014.
242 pages.
Rating: 4/5
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

Going into this book I knew I was either going to love it or hate it with no in between. It tells a story about Cadence Sinclair, she’s part of the Sinclairs, an old-money-democrat family that is known to be wealthy and beautiful.

The Sinclairs have a private island in which they spend their summers together. Every summer the group self-named “The Liars” meet, have fun together and leave, proceeding to not keep in touch with each other during the rest of the year. The Liars are composed of Cadence – who’s seemingly the leader -,  her cousins Mirren, Johnny, and the outcast Gat.

“We are Sinclairs. Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liar. We live, least in the summertime, on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts. Perhaps that is all you need to know.”

The writing style is incredibly poetic and dramatic, it took me awhile to get used to it, but when I did, I became obsessed with it. It fits well with the book and how everything progresses. It complements the story and characters. It makes everything sadly beautiful.

Every summer is the same, until it isn’t. Cadence finds herself not remembering everything about the summer she’s fifteen. She thinks everything is normal until she starts opening her eyes to what’s going on with her family.

Rich and beautiful Cadence has it all and pays zero attention to things that actually matter. She’s spoiled and unaware of anyone that isn’t in her circle and their feelings. After Gat – someone she’s in love with – starts pointing that out to her, she goes through some rude awakenings that her family might not be as perfect as she thought. She starts paying more attention to the family drama going around her and tries talking to them about it. But again, she has no idea what she’s talking about.

“You’re filled with superiority, aren’t you? You think you understand the world so much better than I do. I’ve heard Gat talking. I’ve seen you eating up his words like ice cream off a spoon. But you haven’t paid bills, you haven’t had a family, owned property, seen the world. You have no idea what you’re talking about, and yet you do nothing but pass judgment.”

The liars, I’m incredibly found of these characters. Mirren is so sweet and I enjoyed every scene she was in. Johnny is funny and a great character all around. Gat, now Gat was my favorite, he’s the outcast “Healthcliff”, the only one of them that isn’t from a rich family, he’s such an interesting character and the only one of them that cares about the world outside the rich democracy that they live in.

“Who are Ginny and Paulo?”
Gat hits his fist into his palm. “Ginny is the housekeeper. Paulo is the gardener. You don’t know their names and they’ve worked here summer after summer. That’s part of my point.”
My face heats with shame. “I’m sorry.”

Cadence and Gat had a tumultuous relationship, in which she believed she was in love with him and he treated their interactions with apprehension, trying to keep their relationship friendly – mostly because of how her family treated him – and showing her how the world is from his point of view.

Every time Gat said these things, so casual and truthful, so oblivious—my veins opened. My wrists split. I bled down my palms. I went light-headed.

The story develops accordingly; slowly and dramatic. Although I realized where things were going as the book progressed, the ending still made me cry so much. All in all, I love how E. Lockhart wrapped up the story and how heartbreaking it is, definitely one of my favorite books.

Leave a Reply

