Review: Vendetta by Catherine Doyle.

246382012Vendetta (Blood For Blood #1) by Catherine Doyle.
Published February 24th 2015.
352 pages.
Rating: 3.75/5
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

I should start this by saying that I know nothing about mafia, with that said I also want to state that I love reading books where there’s mafia involved. So naturally I was very excited to start this book, and let me just say that I wasn’t disappointed in the least.

Persephone “Sophie” Gracewell is a normal teenager, living her boring teenager life working in her family diner during the summer. She has been made infamous by something her father did and because of that she has come to relay on only her family and best friend, Millie.

One day, coming home from work she sees that the mansion in Cedar Hill that has always been vacant has a new family moved in. With the arrival of five mysterious brothers, Sophie is drawn to the youngest, Nic. He’s charming, fun, and doesn’t seem to care about her infamy, but as they start to get closer, suspicion arises, secrets are unraveled, and in the mist of this newfound darkness she discovers some skeletons of her own family.

“There is beauty everywhere; even in the dark, there is light, and that is the rarest kind of all.”

Sophie is a great protagonist, I’ve seen mixed feelings about this, but for me she’s an incredible character, I connected with her and I honestly believe if put in the same situation I would make similar choices. She’s witty and doesn’t take shit from anyone, her friendship with Millie is one of my favorite things in this book, it’s so important and I love how it wasn’t put aside when things started progressing with the main plot.

The Falcones, I found it interesting the family dynamic presented to us. Luca is my favorite, he’s the dark and mysterious type, and his banters with Sophie gave me life. Nic is amazing too, he’s carefree and enchanting. I loved Valentino and Gino as well, I even liked Felice a little bit, he is definitely entertaining. Now, Dom was horrible, I couldn’t find it in me to like him.

“From the very beginning every member of my family has been born into the Mafia. Not inducted. Born. For us there is no other choice, no alternate way to live.”

I personally don’t know Italian, but my family is Italian so from listening to my grandparents and great-grandparents I ended up knowing a few things, I don’t know much but even I could see some grammar mistakes. This is something that really bothers me, when an author doesn’t do the proper research on a language and culture before writing it. I’ve read a handful of books where there are Brazilian characters and everything screams stereotypes, the Portuguese phrases are all wrong and it just really annoys me. So I guess any Italian that reads this book must feel the same way and I’m sorry for that.

Overall, the book progressed in a good pace, nothing felt rushed or too prolonged, and that ending actually surprised me, pleasantly so but surprising nonetheless. I loved how everything went down and it left me begging for the next book.

Leave a Reply

