Review: Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle.

25059637Mafiosa (Blood For Blood #3) by Catherine Doyle.
Published January 5th 2017.
400 pages.
Rating: 5/5
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
A blood war rages on the streets of Chicago.

Protected by an infamous mafia family, Sophie is living a dangerous lie, pretending to lead a normal life. But the deceit can’t last for ever. Her heart belongs to a killer and Sophie’s the prime target of a rival clan. She’s determined to seek revenge on her mother’s murderers, but can she pay the price – can she be a mafiosa?

Let me just start this by saying my heart cannot take this much pain and enjoyment in such short periods of time. When I finished Inferno I was dying to read more of this series and with everything going on my expectations were ridiculously high.

Now, reading this book was a mix of excitement and dreadness. I was so anxious that Mafiosa wouldn’t come to a satisfying ending that I’m so incredibly happy to inform that not only my feelings of dread and anxiety were appeased but also replaced by overwhelming joy.

Sophie was already a great protagonist in my eyes. But her development and how she handled everything was honestly astonishing, it made me love her even more. Her relationship with the Falcones is very interesting, I’m not sure what I was expecting it, but that wasn’t it. I could actually see them as a family and not only as mafiosos, it’s surprisingly enjoyable to see.

“I’m just a Disney princess stuck in a Mafia world.”

I have said it before but I’ll say it again, I absolutely adore Sophie and Millie’s friendship, it’s so important and honestly quite rare to see in books. Usually authors use friendships as either plot device of betrayal or as a side note only showing any signs of friendship once or twice. And that never happens here, Millie is always there for Sophie no matter what, even when she doesn’t know the whole story, she’s there regardless.

“I’ve always said, Soph, you’re my real true love.” She grabbed my hand and squeezed it. “There’s no love as real as that of a girl and her best friend.”

Plot-wise this book just kept getting better, everything developed so perfectly, it happens a lot in the last book of a series that an author would keep pushing the important parts to the end and when we finally get to it the ending it’s rushed and unsatisfactory. That’s not what happens here, I feel like everything happened with a purpose and Doyle handled everything really well. Some deaths were so shocking to me and it hit me harder than I expected.

Luca Falcone, my sweet child, he’s one of the best characters in this trilogy and I’m so glad we got to see a lot more of him in this book. His dynamic with the rest of the Falcones is interesting to say the least. I loved his interactions with Valentino and I wish we could’ve seen more of them together to be honest.

Something I wasn’t expecting was to Elena to grow on me like she did, I honestly loved her so much in this book, I want to know more about her and see more of her relationship with her sons, and with Sophie as well.

The ending was something I feel bittersweet about, I loved how everything was handled, but at the same time a little I’m disappointed that some of my favorite characters died. Also, even though I understand why it had to end like that, I found myself a bit sad for Luca and Sophie, and the fact that they will most likely end up running for the rest of their lives.

“We’re stuck here in this world where we don’t belong, trying to be something we can’t mold ourselves into.”

Leave a Reply

