Trope Tuesday #1: Fake Dating.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

Fake Dating is one of my favorite, if not my favorite, romance trope out there. It’s also sort of a guilty pleasure trope for me, since it’s not very realistic. Although, even with the unrealistic side of things, it’s still incredibly enjoyable and always fun to read.

This is a romance trope that could be considered cliche and overused but when you stop and pay attention, there really aren’t a lot of good books about it. As the name is self-explanatory, Fake Dating is when two characters decide for whatever reason that they should pretend to be dating to achieve a goal that’s very important to them, until it’s not fake anymore and they fall in love, live happily ever after and all that.

Addicted To You by Krista & Becca Ritchie is my favorite book from this trope by far. Even though this isn’t a major part of the story itself it’s still there and I still enjoy it immensely. Between my favorites is also, The Deal by Elle Kennedy which is also a new adult book, and again, even though the fake dating part isn’t major in the plot is still there and still enjoyable.

Now in the young adult category we have To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, which is a fan favorite for a lot of people, and I have to agree it’s one of the cutest books ever. Also, the fake dating is really enhanced, unlike the aforementioned books. Other books in which this trope is a big part of the plot are The Fill-In Boyfriend and Act Like It, both amazing books, very sweet and enjoyable.

Overall, I absolutely love this trope and 100% recommend it, even though it is more of a guilty pleasure and a lot of people dislike it profoundly.

2 thoughts on “Trope Tuesday #1: Fake Dating.

  1. Fake Dating is the best!!! It is so common, but I never get bored of it.

    I liked The Deal too. I plan to reread it this year once I get a physical copy (hopefully one of the old covers because I really don’t like the new design).

    I can’t wait to see what tropes you cover next! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my god yes, me too! I love the old covers but apparently that’s an unpopular opinion haha!
      Thanks, I’m already thinking over the next trope I want to talk about, yay ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

