Trope Tuesday #2: Best Friend’s Sibling.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

Best Friend’s Sibling is one of those tropes that everyone knows about, and most people pretend to hate it but deep down have a soft spot for it. Well, at least I do.

The trope happens when the hero or heroine fall in love with their best friend’s sibling, and that’s pretty much all there is to it. It usually happens in two situations; the hero/heroine go away for a while and when they come back they realize their best friend’s sibling changed and now they’re see them in a different light. Or they’ve always been attracted to each other but never did anything about it afraid to hurt their sibling/best friend.

Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of my favorite authors, and she has written two books with this trope; Be with Me and Tempting the Best Man. Both of these books are part of a series but it can be read as a standalone, they’re a tiny bit overly dramatic and angst ridden, which can be annoying but from this trope they usually are.

My favorite book from this trope is On The Fence by the fluff queen Kasie West. I love her writing and I absolutely love this book, it holds a special place in my heart. It’s about Charlie, a girl that is surrounded by boys her whole life, with three brothers and single her dad. But then she finds herself working at a chic boutique to pay off a speeding ticket during the summer and starts seeing things in a new light. Another favorite of mine is Mister O by Lauren Blakely, it’s very fun and entertaining.

Other books from this trope that I’ve read but aren’t as good is The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han, I have friends that enjoyed it a lot but personally I don’t see the appeal, it’s an okay trilogy and quick to read whenever you feel like a summery romance story, but I wouldn’t call it great.

Overall, this trope doesn’t bother or annoy me but it isn’t a personal favorite either. Depends a lot on how the author handles it.

2 thoughts on “Trope Tuesday #2: Best Friend’s Sibling.

    • Oh I haven’t read that one yet, I’ll definitely put it in my to read list!

      Mister O is a fun and light read, if you’ve read any of Blakely’s books it’s pretty much the same style, I enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

