ARC Mini Reviews: Intercepting The Chef, It Had To Be You & Back To Your Love.

31302859Intercepting the Chef (How to Score, #1) by Rachel Goodman.
Expected publication: May 2nd 2017.
Goodreads
Rating: 3.5/5
Mini Review: After things going terribly wrong with her boyfriend and renowned chef in San Francisco, Gwen has no other option than to go back home in Denver and start over at her brother’s best friend, Logan Stonestreet’s restaurant.

I enjoyed the romance at an overall capacity. But when I stopped to think about particulars, it wasn’t as enjoyable, so I’ll just focus on what I did like for now. Logan is a sweetheart, I really liked him, I mean the guy literally does not wrong, and what Gwen considers his flaw, when you think about it, it isn’t a flaw at all, it’s determination to achieve his goals.

Gwen is another story, I couldn’t connect to her at all, I didn’t hate her or anything, but I also didn’t care for her. She was distant and her misconceptions were frustrating at times to be really honest. Halfway through the book there’s this part where she says “I wondered if I’d merely been doing those things with the expectation that happiness would find me instead of the other way around (…) As I stare up at him, it hit me with stunning clarity that perhaps everything I’d been searching for was him.” and I wanted to hit her, because it feels like she’s talking like he’s everything she needs to be happy. And look, I do believe love is important but it isn’t everything.

Everyone else in Logan’s life were assholes, they all treated him like the football player and nothing more. Chris was supposed to be his friend and when they lost one game he went off on Logan and threatened to leave the team, I mean seriously? That’s the type of friend you want to be? I’m not even going to start on his father. 

All in all, this was nice to read, it was entertaining but at the same time everything felt very generic. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. So if you’re in the mood for a quick and nice read, you should pick this up.

33288952It Had To Be You (Crystal Valley #2) by Melissa Kate.
Expected publication: April 25th 2017.
Goodreads
Rating: 3.75/5
Mini Review: Emma owner of the town bakery and Oliver, now Chief of Police once upon a time were best friends, until he suddenly pulled away without any explanation, that is. Years later and all they have is resentment between them. Things take an awkward turn when they’re thrown together by her best friend during the town bachelor auction.

Emma has been hurt before. She caught her ex cheating on her. And to make things worse he left town making it seem like she was the one who broke the mayor’s son’s heart. Now, two years later, she might just be ready to move on. But her plans doesn’t quite work out as she expected when her best friend set her up on a date with her childhood best friend-turned enemy.

Oliver has been keeping his distance from Emma for years now, but he’s decided that enough time has passed, and maybe he doesn’t have to anymore. He’s been keeping a secret from her for years now, and he knows it affects her, the ‘why’, why did he stop talking to her? He believes whatever conclusion she came up with is better than the truth.

The characters are fun and nice to read, I enjoyed it. The romance was amazing, not rushed at all, just with the right pacing, although, one thing that bothered me about it is that the ‘big secret’ wasn’t really that big of a deal, so Oliver made it out to be worse than it was and because of that it felt like Emma overreacted when she found out. I loved the interactions with Oliver’s family as well as with Emma’s friends. I did, however, wish it showed more of Audrey and Emma’s friendship.

Overall, this book is a great quick read. It’s fun, sweet, and entertaining. It’s great for when you feel like just reading something cute to cheer you up.
30612674Back to Your Love (Brothers of Theta Delta Theta #1) by Kianna Alexander.
Published April 4th 2017.
Goodreads
Rating: DNF.
Mini Review: I was so excited going into this book. I thought it’d be about a workaholic who had a messy break up with this girl years ago and they end up meeting at their friends’ wedding. But honestly, this book was just a mess until I decided that it wasn’t really for me and gave up on it.

Firstly, just because this book wasn’t for me doesn’t mean it isn’t for you, so you can read my review and if the things that bothered me about it aren’t bothersome to you, you can give it a chance and hopefully have a great experience.

Secondly, trigger warning.

Okay, so let me start out by saying I couldn’t care for any of the characters. Xavier was literally the most annoying hero to me. He’s described as a saint, I’m not even exaggerating, Imani talks about him like he’s God on earth. Look, don’t get me wrong, it is admirable when someone takes the time of their busy routine to help children who needs it, but they mention it way too much. I remember being ten pages in and the protagonist said “hearing him talk about his work in such a modest way” and I thought “I just started this book and I’m already done with talking about his charity work”.

“Instead of money, my dividends are paid in the success of my mentees.” I mean, seriously? Gag.

Another thing is how Imani always has to point out how attractive Xavier is, he doesn’t “raise his arm” rather than “raise his muscled arm”, it gets tiring after a while.

Now, after Xavier being painted as the greatest guy in the universe, when we finally get to the point where her secret comes out – which by the way was pretty obvious from the start and it just annoyed me that it kept being treated as the most mysterious thing – and instead of him being understanding and being there for her, he! actually! gets! mad! I’m never getting over this, he was such an asshole, you just find out the girl you supposedly love was raped and your reaction is accuse her of lying? Fuck that.

Imani was just annoying and stupid at times. She acted like he broke her heart all those years ago when in reality it was just that they were moving away from each other for college and it wouldn’t make sense to continue dating. But then again, she dropped that shit pretty quickly so I don’t really understand why it was brought up in the first place.

And that’s all I read from this book, I don’t know how it ends or if it gets better, I was just done with everything that I didn’t care enough to stick around and find out.

Leave a Reply

