Trope Tuesday #4: Flirty Stepsiblings.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

Flirty Stepsiblings has a pretty self explanatory trope title. And it’s a huge taboo trope where step-siblings fall in love. So basically, you’ve got two people who don’t share any DNA whatsoever, mostly teenagers, whose parents have recently gotten hitched, and they have to learn how to live with each other until baam, hormones happen.

I’ve read quite a few romance books from this trope actually, but frankly most of them are so bad. The one that I liked the most was Stepbrother Dearest, which is definitely darker than I expected and I loved that about it. Even with all the heavy subjects it still managed to be sweet at the right parts. Plus I liked the characters a lot.

I think the most popular one, that at least I’ve seen a lot about, is Too Far Series also known as Rosemary Beach Series. When I started getting into new adult books this series showed up everywhere I looked. And it’s not that I hated it, but I didn’t really understand why people liked it so much. It’s very cliche and basic, but it does have a good vibe overall.

This trope is hard to deal with, because although I personally love taboo stories in general, I also know that people view it in a bad way most of the time, hence it being taboo. Besides, most authors doesn’t really do a good job with these topics, unfortunately.

3 thoughts on “Trope Tuesday #4: Flirty Stepsiblings.

  1. Not a fan of this trope, but it really worked in A Gentleman in the Street. Both the characters were adults and it had been years since their parents had been married (their parents ended up getting divorced). It was more flirty ex-step siblings. There were a lot of good plays on popular tropes in that book.

    I avoid flirty step siblings like the plague, so I don’t come across it often. I guess I understand the appeal?? it just doesn’t appeal to me personally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

