Trope Tuesday #6: Friends With Benefits.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

Okay, chances are, you’ve already seen this trope in about a thousand places. It’s literally everywhere; books, tv, cinema, real life, etc. So you probably already know how it works. But in case of the impossibility that you haven’t seen it before or maybe just don’t know much about it, I’ll break it down for you.

Friends With Benefits is when the the main characters have the incredible and completely original idea of having sex with a friend, but supposedly without romantic feelings towards each other. That being said, there is a difference between Friends With Benefits and Fuck Buddies. In this view, Fuck Buddies are couplings with no emotional relationship, just great sex. Now, Friends With Benefits differs providing sex and friendship, but not as much emotional intimacy as a full-blown romance.

I’ve read a lot o books from this trope, not necessarily by choice but because it’s used as a plot device in so many novels that it’s hard to avoid it, so I’ll just talk about my absolute favorites; Overruled is definitely my #1 by far. I love Emma Chase’s writing and this book is just incredible, not something I was expecting going into it, but I loved it. Also loved the Brazilian love interest, and the rep was the best I’ve seen from an author that isn’t Brazilian.

Another book that is very high up in my list is Black Rainbow, I already talked about this book last week on my Age Gap post, but I think it’s worth mentioning it again because it’s truly incredible. I have other books that I’ve enjoyed so I’ll just quickly mention them; The Backup Boyfriend is so adorable and entertaining, go read it! A pretty popular one is the Off Campus Series, basically all of the couples in this series go through the ‘friends with benefits/fuck buddy’ phase with their relationship. And The Hook Up, which isn’t my favorite from Kristen Callihan, but it’s still enjoyable.

I have mixed feelings about this trope. It isn’t one of my favorites, but it doesn’t tick me off either. I won’t look for it in a book, but as I stated before, it’s close to impossible to run from it.

Leave a Reply

