Calendar Girls #1: Best Sequel.

Calendar Girls is a blog event hosted by the bloggers Melanie Noell Bernard and Flavia the Bibliophile, inspired by Neil Sedaka’s 1961 song Calendar Girl. Just like in the song, they decided to use a specific theme for each month and choose a book based on these themes! The event is meant to incite discussions with other bloggers about books we’ve read and loved, to help bloggers interact with other bloggers, and also for bloggers and readers to find out about blogs which they normally may not have come across! If you’d like to know more you can check here and here.

This month’s theme is Best Sequel, and my pick is:

19445725

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan.
When I heard this month’s theme, this is the first book that came to mind. I think mostly because it’s not very popular and I love this duology so much. Also, this is so much better than the first one, and it’s on an completely different atmosphere; new characters, places, situations, plot. I mean, the overall idea is still the same, of course, but it’s like the author took the story and totally rebuilt it. Not only that, but it actually worked. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the first book, but this one is just a thousand times better and I enjoyed it immensely.

Now, I still have other sequels that I considered picking, but the only one that really made me rethink my decision was A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Look, I know this series is very problematic, the author sucks and all that, but honestly? I love it so much that I don’t care how problematic it is, it agrees with the story and so far it (this trilogy) hasn’t disappointed me.

So this is the best sequels novels that I’ve read so far. What about you guys? What are the sequels that made you love the series that much more?

19 thoughts on “Calendar Girls #1: Best Sequel.

  1. OH MY GOSH!! I haven’t read Unleashed yet, but I LOVED the first book! 😀 I’m so excited you picked this because I feel like no one ever hears about these books and they are really good! I can’t wait to read the second. (I mean, I already couldn’t, but now I really need to find a copy. Hee hee!)

    Question: You said new characters? Does the MC change from book one to book two? I’m curious now.

    Side Note: What is so controversial about Sarah J Maas? Did I miss something? (I haven’t read that series yet. So, maybe that’s why??)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH MY GOODNESS YAY! I don’t know a lot of people who like or even heard of this series so this is super exciting!! Hahah.

      Yes, new characters!!! So like we still have Davy and the others are still there, but only for a short period of time really, they almost don’t show up in the book and we have new characters filling in for them. The story kind of takes a new direction and it’s nice to see, I hope you like it!

      Honestly, I don’t find anything wrong with A Court Of Thorns And Roses, I haven’t read Throne Of Glass so I can’t comment on why people hate that one, but with this series people say Rhys (the love interest) is manipulative and controlling. I mean yes he is possessive but he’s also very supportive and he believes in Feyre more than anyone, he helps her achieve her full potential and all that so I really don’t get people. I think they just don’t like the author and like to complain about things lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmm. Well, I can’t wait to read Unleashed. Sounds like it’ll be a bit different, but in a good way. 😀 I’m curious to know how the plot develops because such technology may not be very far off, you know?

        And that’s strange about Maas. I mean, I like characters with imperfections. I can’t really say anything since I haven’t read Court of Thorns and Roses yet, but I mean, her writing is excellent. A smidge cliche, but meh. What story isn’t nowadays? *shrug* Now I’m more intrigued to read the Court series, though. I don’t want to know too much about the gossip until I do. (and at the end of the day, as long as you like a book, it really shouldn’t matter what other people think. You read for yourself, not for others. )

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is and I really hope you enjoy it! And so true, like it’s dystopian but not that far fetched!

        You should totally give it a chance to ACOTAR, maybe you’ll love it too! And thank you, that’s what I think about books too, if I like it that’s all that matters, I’m having fun reading it so why let other people’s opinions get in the way, right?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly! And everyone looks for something a little different from the books they read. So, even if you both dislike a book, they may dislike the book for a whole different reason than you. Either way, they make for fun discussions. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read a few of Sophie Jordan’s stories, but I somehow missed these books. It looks liter interesting, though. It seems so interesting that she rebuilt it and created all of these new characters – it seems with most sequels being better it is because of a whole new characters and world. That’s pretty much with happened with ACOMAF too. Wonderful choice! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, these books are unfortunately not very well known but you should totally look it up, it’s very good! 🤗
      Oh my God, I know right? I love it when the authors do that with sequels as well, and ACOTAR is definitely one of my favorite series, can’t wait to read ACOWAR! Oh, thank you! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

