Trope Tuesday #8: We Met Online First.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

I have said it before, but I’ll say it again, We Met Online First is one of my all time favorite tropes. It is a relatively new trope that came around once internet became more prominent in our day-to-day lives. The name itself is pretty self-explanatory, but just in case, this trope happens when two people meet each other online, and end up falling in love with each other, yay!

Nowadays it’s so easy for us to meet people online and actually form great relationships with someone who lives the other side of the world. That is what calls out to me the most about this trope, the fact that it’s possible and not some distant far-fetched idea that you can read about but it’ll never happen to you.

I’ve read quite a few books on this trope, but my all time favorites are Tell Me Three Things and Flat-Out Love. They’re both quite similar in a lot of ways, but very different as a whole. What makes me love these books so much is how relationship develops between those characters, and how they all have so much going on with their lives that the only source of comfort they have is from this person online.

Another book that I loved and fit in this trope, but not exactly — they do meet online first, but they don’t develop their relationship online before moving on to a real life situation — is Flat-Out Celeste, which is the second book in the Flat-Out Love duology and in case you didn’t notice, I’m obsessed with these books!

Honorable mentions to Alex, Approximately and It Started With Goodbye because they’re so adorable, and I 100% recommend it whenever you feel like you need some young adult fluffiness in your life. You can also check out my we met online first bookshelf on goodreads if you’d like more options.

What do you guys think of it? Love it or hate it? Got any favorites books from this trope?

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

2 thoughts on “Trope Tuesday #8: We Met Online First.

  1. I LOVE THIS TROPE SO MUCH!!!!! I will honestly read ANY book that has the premise of meeting online. I’ve met so many of my best friends online, so I love the idea that you can create a meaningful relationship or fall in love with someone despite not knowing them in person. My personal favorite is Hold Me by Courtney Milan. I would die for that book tbh.

    I just put Flat-Out Love & Alex, Approximately on my TBR. I have a copy of Tell Me Three Things already so I’ll move it up on my TBR list 😊.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG ME TOO!!!! This is definitely in my top ten tropes! Hold me is in my TBR list too, I need to read it soon, it’s been a while since I’ve read any books from this trope it’s sad 😭
      Oh my goodness yay, I hope you like those books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

