Review: Touch of Fondness by Joy Penny.

33526180Touch of Fondness (Stay in Touch #1) by Joy Penny.
Published: May 2nd 2017.
335 pages.
Rating: 3.5/5
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
Four friends. Four college grads. Four people figuring out that life doesn’t always turn out the way you expected.

Brielle Reyes may not have post-college life planned out like some of her friends do, but she figures she’ll work for her mother’s home cleaning service while job hunting for something that makes use of her history and philosophy degrees. It’ll work out as long as she doesn’t fall in love. Her last relationship was a disaster and she has no idea where she’ll be in a few weeks, let alone the rest of her life. Since the only guy in her age range she sees now on a regular basis is cantankerous if handsome client Archer Ward, she probably won’t have a hard time sticking to that vow. Probably.

Archer Ward likes very few things: illustrating as a somewhat-celebrated comic artist and his privacy. When his meddling mother hires him a cleaning service on an almost daily basis because she doesn’t fully trust her son to live on his own with his disability, he’s at first annoyed—even if his house cleaner is the most beautiful woman he’s ever spent more than a few minutes with. When he realizes her dreams may take her far outside of his restricted orbit, he has to decide whether to stifle his interest in her or risk messing up her plans to explore if there’s something more between them.

Neither can deny they’re growing a little fond of each other, even if falling in love just now makes no sense whatsoever. But how often does love ever make perfect sense?

Brielle Reyes just graduated in history and psychology, a degree most people consider useless to anything other than teaching, which she doesn’t want. So she finds herself out of options for a future career, meaning she has to work at her mother’s cleaning company while she figures out what she wants to do with her life and find a job.

Twenty-five years old comic artist Archer Ward is whiling to do anything to keep his overprotective mother out of his hair, so if having a cleaner coming in daily is the way to do it, so be it. After running out his first “cleaning lady” he gets a lovely surprise when the next one arrives, and she’s nothing like he expected.

This book was adorable and I really enjoyed it. With that being said, I did have some problems with it, I was a little unsure with the instant attraction thing, but it didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would. The pacing was maybe a little too fast at times for me, I think the characters just sort of jumped into this “relationship” without thinking about the consequences and what they wanted, which annoys me a little too.

I had a love/hate relationship with Brielle to be honest, I liked her at first, but she managed to annoy me so many times that I’m not so sure about her anymore. She was a little too judgmental, indecisive – which I’m okay with, but not when it messes with other people’s lives too -, and she’s made so many poor choices that it made me uncomfortable being in her head at times. Also the fact that I’d just roll my eyes at her way of thinking way too much.

I did like Archer a lot though, I found him somewhat relatable, even though I have close to nothing in common with him. He was probably my favorite part of the book and I loved reading from his point of view. Pembroke was another plus for the book, I was surprised that I actually liked her a lot from what I’ve seen, and I really want the next book to be about her.

Overall this story was really enjoyable, very fun and easy to read. I liked how Archer’s deficiency wasn’t used as a plot device and even though this could be an angsty romance, it was actually pretty light and cute.

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

4 thoughts on “Review: Touch of Fondness by Joy Penny.

  1. Oh my God, Brielle was so annoying sometimes. I’d literally cringe the whole time while reading her POV. The fact that she was worried that Archer was getting ‘attached’?! I mean, what the heck? The guy’s never been in love before. I sort of felt like he kind of deserved better…? Idk. Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

