Interview with Author Joy Penny.

Hey guys! I just recently read A Touch of Foundness by Joy Penny, and I was so excited when the author reached out to me! You can check my review for the book here. Aaaaand here’s my interview with the writer, yay!

01. Joy, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your books? What made you decide to be a writer?
I’ve always loved escaping to different worlds and being entertained by books, TV shows, and movies. As a book editor and anime and manga reviewer (for Anime News Network) as well as an author, most of my days are focused on fiction. I’ve always wanted to create my own stories and writing books is the simplest way to do that. I can do it from home, as opposed to moving where movies and TV shows are made and competing with tons of other people vying for limited positions.
02. We don’t see a lot of books with a disabled main character, what inspired you to write Archer? And how did you research for it?
My mother has been disabled since I was a teen and I’ve been her caretaker for almost 20 years. The experience opened my eyes to understand challenges I’d never thought of before my mom’s disability. She loves romance stories and most of the ones featuring characters with disabilities are sad in tone–like someone who became disabled after an accident or injury and had trouble adjusting to their new way of life. I wanted to write a story about a person with a disability who’d always been that way–whose disability didn’t define him. At the same time, that doesn’t mean there aren’t challenges and prejudices he faces, especially from a potential girlfriend who’s never spent much time around people with disabilities before. I worked with my mom to do justice to the portrayal and also connected with disability resources and websites for more information and other points of view.
03. When did you feel like this is it, I’m an author whose words can actually have an impact on people?
I don’t think I’ve ever felt that way! But I’m committed to being an author and the only way to achieve my dream of relying mostly on book sale income is to keep writing and keep offering more books to readers. At the same time, when I get fan mail, it really puts a smile on my face. I’ve had readers tell me how much my books have meant to them, and that definitely inspires me to keep moving forward.
04. What do you want your readers to take with them after having read your books?
I hope they enjoyed themselves for a few hours, or however long it took them to read the books. I hope my characters stick with them in a good way.

05. What does the future look like for the Stay in Touch series? What about future projects, releases etc.?

There are three more books in the series, but I don’t have a concrete release date yet. We’re hoping I can release the next book (Lilac’s story), Touch of Heartache, before the end of the year. Gavin’s story and Pembroke’s story (untitled at the moment) will, I hope, come out next year. I’m busy juggling releases with my other author name as well, but I already have an idea for Joy’s next series, which will draw even more on my passion for geeky pop culture.

About the Author

Displaying Amy McNulty Author Pic.jpgJoy Penny writes books, devours stories, and geeks out about everything from classic romance books to manga. When she’s not working as a freelance writer and book editor, she’s probably immersed in her favorite TV shows, period dramas, and anime series. She also writes YA speculative fiction as Amy McNulty, and one of her books, Nobody’s Goddess, won The Romance Reviews’ Summer 2016 Readers’ Choice Award for Young Adult Romance.

You guys can find the first book of her newest series on goodreads and amazon!

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest
Leave a Reply

