Calendar Girls #2: Best Shakespeare Play.

Calendar Girls is a blog event hosted by the bloggers Melanie Noell Bernard and Flavia the Bibliophile, inspired by Neil Sedaka’s 1961 song Calendar Girl. Just like in the song, they decided to use a specific theme for each month and choose a book based on these themes! The event is meant to incite discussions with other bloggers about books we’ve read and loved, to help bloggers interact with other bloggers, and also for bloggers and readers to find out about blogs which they normally may not have come across! If you’d like to know more you can check here and here.

June’s theme is Best Shakespeare Play, and my pick is:

1622

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare.
I was a little unsure about this month’s theme because I might just be the only person in the world who isn’t that big of a Shakespeare fan. Although, when I was in high school I did read quite a few of his stories, and not only for school.

I’m being very cliche and just going with one of the most popular ones, but it truly is the one book that held my attention the most. Not only that, but this one I actually enjoyed reading, and didn’t make me roll my eyes every few minutes so yay! Whenever I read books that old I get a little frustrated from a feminist standpoint, so ignoring all of those problematic situations – in not only this particular book but pretty much every book around the 16th century – it’s actually very nice to read it.

I’m also a big fan of Macbeth, which I know I know, is another extremely well known from Shakespeare. But I was so young when I read it and it had strong language and situations that kind of marked me in all of mine twelve years old. I’m not sure if I’d feel the same way about it now, but as it stands, I’m very fond of this story.

What about you guys? Are you a fan of Shakespeare? What is your favorite play? 

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

9 thoughts on “Calendar Girls #2: Best Shakespeare Play.

  1. I’ve only read 2 Shakespeares both for class. I wasn’t a fan of Romeo and Juliet but I Loved Macbeth!!! I’ve been intimated to read any of his work on my own but I’ve been thinking lately that I want to give it a shot. Maybe I’ll start with this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Macbeth and Midsummer Night’s Dream are both on my top 5 list of Shakespeare’s plays. There’s nothing wrong with going for one of the most popular ones as your favourite, they’re popular for a reason after all! It really is an awesomely entertaining play. I would love to see it live. I missed the time they put it on at the Stratford Festival where they had the Barenaked Ladies playing roles in it.

    http://twobirds1blog.blogspot.ca/2017/06/calendar-girls-june-2017-best.html

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yaaaay we picked the same one! And I’m glad to see that we agree about how we feel when reading Shakespeare (or any literature from that time) from a feminist standpoint, hehe. I also found this play to be very enjoyable not only to read but also to watch! I’m planning on watching a newer film adaptation pretty soon, actually! It’s done by BBC, so it should be pretty good.

    Awesome choice (I’m not biased at all, haha), and thank you so much for participating in Calendar Girls! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

