Trope Tuesday #13: Road Trip Romance.

Trope Tuesday is a meme/series created by Lacy Literacy. On Tuesdays, the goal is to discuss one trope that you dislike, love, are indifferent to, hate, currently annoyed by, think is problematic, etc. You can learn more about Trope Tuesday here.

With the summer almost upon us, I’m looking for some summery books, and in doing so I’ve come across Road Trip Romance, which can be considered a very popular trope between summer books. The name itself is pretty self-explanatory, it’s when two or more people decide to, for whatever reason, make a road trip and somewhere in between they fall in love and/or discover themselves.

Summer books are one of my favorite things to read, and with Road Trip Romance being a somewhat well-known part of it, I have read some books with it. For me it’s complicated though, I love the idea of it, the road trip vibe and everything along with it. But I’ve never read a great book with this trope. Ever. And I have read quite a few so maybe that’s just not achievable.

I have a few books that I read and liked it, they’re good books but not quite there yet, you know? Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour was super cute, very summery and I really liked the characters. I know everyone loves this book, I’ve seen so many good things about it, and it’s not like I hate it or anything, it is a nice book, I really can’t find something to criticize about it, I just didn’t love it. Another one is You Are Here, I really liked the idea of this book, it was original and I enjoyed reading it. I like the author a lot, but her books can be very slow paced and sometimes boring, which was the case with this one unfortunately.

I’m not a huge fan of John Green, but he does have the road trip feel down when he writes about it, and he does have a couple of books that has a lot of road trip in it, so if you’re into it, you might want to check them out.

What do you guys think about this trope? Love it or hate it?

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

5 thoughts on “Trope Tuesday #13: Road Trip Romance.

  1. Road trip romance is always hit or miss for me. I love the feeling of reading about all the different cities and hilarious stops, but then it sometimes just gets far too unrealistic. Super hard to decide. Wonderful thoughts on it!

    (Also, super sorry – I was aiming for the like button on the Reader and accidentally hit follow which promptly unfollows [fun fact] – hopefully I got it all squared away now XD).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

