ARC Review: Modern Love by Beau North.

35167805Modern Love by Beau North.
Expected publication: July 11th 2017.
132 pages.
Rating: 4.5/5
Goodreads | Pre-Order

Synopsis:
“Love at first sight wasn’t meant for millennials,” thinks Alice Aberdeen: art student, recovering addict, David Bowie enthusiast. Alice is among the recently dumped and only wants to keep her nose to the grindstone until she finishes her degree. Her sister has other ideas and sets her up with new-in-town Will Murphy–tall, dark, and aloof. To say it wasn’t an instant attraction is an understatement: He finds her abrasive, with her sharp tongue and don’t-screw-with-me attitude. She thinks he’s excessively reserved, too damn serious. But the more time Alice spends with Will, the more their slow burn begins to thaw her heart. A man of two worlds, half-Irish, half-Indian, Will feels at home with Alice. He soon realizes her tough shell is hiding extensive scar tissue–from her addiction and recovery to her spectacularly bad ex-girlfriend to the loss of her mother. Modern Love isn’t a story about love at first sight but learning to love yourself before being able to see the one you love.

I received this book via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

This is the first book I’ve ever read from by Beau North, but I can assure you it’ll definitely not be the last. Modern Love was a great surprise that I just stumbled upon and it instantly caught my attention.

I was instantly hooked when I started reading this book for two main reasons; 01) I loved Allie’s witty voice. I related a lot to her way of thinking and I believe most millennials will as well. And 02) the realistic feel of it. How can you not see a sister and a best friend setting up people they think would get along on blind dates? I personally have been there and well it didn’t turn out great, but my point is that it happens. It’s not a far-fetched idea or something not believable that romances pull out sometimes.

I admire that even though the main character had a past with narcotics and is bisexual, the author never used those facts as a plot device or for shock purposes, I was so ecstatic to see that. I think it’s way past time for author to stop using those things to strategically enhance and base their storyline on.

The romance was great, nothing rushed or forced, the development felt natural and it was amazing to see. I also absolutely love Will, he’s my favorite part about this book and I wish we would’ve gotten more chapters from his perspective. But at the same time I get it, it’s Allie’s story more than just a romance story.

I, as a millennial, loved this story and everything along with it. With that being said, I also believe this isn’t a story that only millennials will enjoy. I definitely recommend it.

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Modern Love by Beau North.

  1. I love this author! And I love it when a reader “just gets it”! Well done, Beau! I hope this book is beloved by many. And IMO, it should be a movie.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

