Mini-Reviews: Plain Vanilla, Only A Kiss & When Sparks Fly by Ines Bautista-Yao.

28939978Plain Vanilla by Ines Bautista-Yao.
Published: February 12th 2016.
Goodreads | Amazon
Rating: 4.5/5

Review: Am I in love? I think I’m in love! Give me more!

The story follows Tempest, a “normal” girl in the midst of a quirky and adventurous family. After seeing the guy she kind of maybe has a crush on saying she’s vanilla on facebook, she decides that is time to prove to everyone, and to herself, that she fits in with her eccentric family just fine.

I’m not sure what I was expecting from this book to be honest. I was just scrolling down my kindle hoping to find something cute to read. Well, this book definitely fits that criteria, but not only that, it was so funny and crative. 

My favorite thing about this book was the protagonist. She was so relatable and I loved every moment of her quest to be more adventurous. I also loved Paco, Marga and Clara. All of them together was super fun to read and their banter was entertaining as hell. I could read a full novel about them no problem. 

23705867

Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao.
Published: November 29th 2014.
Goodreads | Amazon
Rating: 4/5

Review: I have a love-hate relationship with the friends to lovers trope, so I wasn’t incredibly excited to start this book since I never know if I will love it or hate it. But after reading two of Bautista-Yao’s stories I should’ve known better than to think she would disappoint me.

Again, this was so adorable and fun to read. It just makes you feel good, you laugh, swoon, get teary-eyed, it’s amazing. 

Unlike the other books I’ve read from this author the characters weren’t my favorite part, but that’s not to say I didn’t love the story all the same. It reminded me a little of Love, Rosie and it made me somewhat nostalgic about it, although unlike Ahern’s story Only A Kiss didn’t frustrate me with a lot of unnecessary drama.

The writing was on point, so sweet and light. It was so easy to read I didn’t see the time passing, it pulled me in so much and I love when I get lost in stories like this.

31370158When Sparks Fly by Ines Bautista-Yao.
Published: August 15th 2016.
Goodreads | Amazon
Rating: 4.5/5

Review: After reading Plain Vanilla I was thirsty for more from this author, so I went into this book without even reading the synopsis, and what a great surprise it was. 

At first I was unsure about it because of the whole having to “choose” between friendship or love. I am glad that’s not the route this story took, It’s great to see a friendship that feels real, with all the ups and downs they go through. 

The romance was incredible, I love both characters so much. It was great to see them develop and learn from their mistakes, individually and as a couple. They complimented each other and it filled me with giddiness to see them together. I also loved how it was dealt with the best friends situation, it was never played the “woman against woman” angle and I’m so grateful.

The writing is very strong, it holds your attention and carries you through the story so easily. And while I do wish we got to see more of Lana’s character and her friendship with Regina, I’m happy with the outcome and I’ll definitely be reading more books from this author.

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

2 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: Plain Vanilla, Only A Kiss & When Sparks Fly by Ines Bautista-Yao.

Leave a Reply

