ARC Review: Illegal Contact by Santino Hassell.

34346381Illegal Contact (The Barons #1) by Santino Hassell.
Expected publication: August 15th 2017.
Rating: 5/5
Goodreads | Pre-Order

Synopsis:
New York Barons tight end Gavin Brawley is suspended from the team and on house arrest after a video of him brawling goes viral. Gavin already has a reputation as a jerk with a temper on and off the field—which doesn’t help him once he finds himself on the wrong side of the law. And while he’s been successful professionally, he’s never been lucky when it comes to love.

Noah Monroe is a recent college grad looking for a job—any job—to pay off his mounting student debt. Working as Gavin’s personal assistant/babysitter seems like easy money. But Noah isn’t prepared for the electrifying tension between him and the football player. He’s not sure if he’d rather argue with Gavin or tackle him to the floor. But both men know the score, and neither is sure what will happen once Gavin’s timeout is over…

I received this book via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Every time I read a book by Santino Hassell I am more and more certain he can do no wrong. I don’t know how he does it, but I fully trust that anything he writes will be great, no questions asked.

I love sports romance, but lately I haven’t really been that into it given it’s all the same thing over and over. But since I saw Santino announcing this book on twitter I’ve been dying to get my hands on it, and when I finally did I devoured it, I couldn’t put it down.

Gavin Brawley is a bisexual tight end of the New York Barons in house arrest for getting into fist fight. So for the duration of his punishment he needs to get a PA to help him keep his affairs in order, here enters Noah Monroe, just out of college looking for a job to pay off his mounting student debt. It seems like an easy choice to go for this position, be a personal assistant to a football star seems easy money, right? Wrong.

They don’t start on the right foot, and Gavin goes out of his way to make sure Noah doesn’t have it easy, that makes for an entertaining start to say the least. Their banter is so amusing, I loved how it developed into mutual respect and something more later on. Slow burn with haters-to-lovers is lowkey what I live for, if you – like me – loves those tropes done right, you should definitely pick this up.

PS. I cannot wait for Simeon’s story!!!! He’s such a fun character that I’m sure his book will be incredible.
PPS. *whispers* can we get a novella on Marcus and Jasmine?

love, thaitwitter • goodreads • tumblr • pinterest

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: Illegal Contact by Santino Hassell.

Leave a Reply

