Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi.

25203675The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi.
Published April 26th 2016.
Rating: 2.25/5
Goodreads | Pre-Order

Synopsis:
Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Review

I only decided to read this book because I really want to read Crown Of Wishes, but even so, I found it to be entirely too disappointing? unsatisfying? discouraging?

The insta-love approach doesn’t entice me in the least, and it felt like the whole book was revolved around that romance that just didn’t quite get there. I felt indifferent towards all of the characters, which is almost worse than if I had hated them, because I just didn’t feel any kind of emotion at any time.

“My star-touched queen,” he said softly, as if he was remembering something from long ago. “I would break the world to give you what you want.” 

The things that did caught my attention are 1) the world setting, so very intense and it was very interesting to read, and 2) the diversity is always amazing to see in books and I appreciate when authors give the importance it deserves.

The writing is beautiful and even melodic in a way, and those are things I love in books, I truly enjoy metaphoric stances, I do, but it has to be treated carefully otherwise it becomes a bunch of pretty words thrown together with no real sense and in the end you only understand 50% of what was said. This book walks the lines between beautifully tragic and exaggerated and overly dramatic.

“I know emptiness. I know the taste of blood against my teeth. I know what it is to fill your belly with iron. I know hunger. I know pain. I know memories that won’t stay. I know the ghost of life and the perfume of souls.” 

The plot itself was… weak, it lacked depth of storyline, characters, everything really. The world setting was very interesting, but the author didn’t really get into that, she just kind of rushed over the world building to get to the main plot that was… what exactly? Their undying love for each other? I’m not completely sure, but I feel like it could’ve been done a lot more to enrich the story.

social-icon-goodreads1social-icon-twitter1social-icon-tumblr1social-icon-insta1social-icon-pinterest1social-icon-facebook1

 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi.

  1. I read this book last year and god I hated it . Purple prose , bad character development,..bad plotting . And the worst part is I know indian mythology and she got everything wrong in her book :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

