Review: Damaged Like Us by Krista & Becca Ritchie.

21427834Damaged Like Us (Like Us #1) by Krista & Becca Ritchie.
Published: June 27th 2017.
Rating: 2.5/5
Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
Maximoff Hale is a force of nature. A ship unwilling to be steered. Headstrong, resilient, and wholly responsible — the twenty-two-year-old alpha billionaire can handle his unconventional life. By noon, lunch can turn into a mob of screaming fans. By two, his face is all over the internet. 

Born into one of the most famous families in the country, his celebrity status began at birth. 

He is certified American royalty. 

When he’s assigned a new 24/7 bodyguard, he comes face-to-face with the worst case scenario: being attached to the tattooed, MMA-trained, Yale graduate who’s known for “going rogue” in the security team — and who fills 1/3 of Maximoff’s sexual fantasies. 

Twenty-seven-year-old Farrow Keene has one job: protect Maximoff Hale. Flirting, dating, and hot sex falls far, far out of the boundary of his bodyguard duties and into “termination” territory. But when feelings surface, protecting the sexy-as-sin, stubborn celebrity becomes increasingly complicated. 

Together, boundaries blur, and being exposed could mean catastrophic consequences for both.

Me Review

I have a lot of feelings towards this books, not all good and not all bad, so let’s get to it.

THE GOOD:

I. The Bodyguards.
I absolutely loved their dynamic. Loved all of them, they were fun and honestly, it’s so adorable how devoted they’re to the families, precious! I do want to see more of them and how they interact with the families, since we basically see how they interact with each other even though they do mention a lot that they really care for the person they ‘guard’. My favorites are Akara, Quinn (fellow brazillian yo) and Tatcher (yep, I actually really liked him).

II. Sulli and Charlie! 
I am here for them so much, they made the book a lot more interesting even though they only showed up like a couple of times. It was somewhat strange for me to like them so much because after Some Kind of Perfect I didn’t really care for them, to be honest I borderline hated Charlie, and oh boy how did that change, they’re now my favorites and I need books from their POVs.

III. Diversity!
I can’t tell you enough how happy I am that Krista & Becca added this much diversity to this new series. LGBTQ+ and POC characters are important and I’m glad they’re more aware in regards to that. I do hope they get more into the different cultures, lowkey hoping for more of Oscar and Quinn to see the Brazilian rep. I know they’re not the type of authors to just throw things in a story without researching about it, and I’m glad they wrote good bi rep.

IV. Family Dynamics.
The very very few scenes we get with family dynamics were the highlight of this book! I need more, A LOT more. I got so excited on chapter 40 because all of my babies were there. Also real quick; no, I do not believe there were out of character because a) they were all so scared – Lily and Lo especially – their children would turn out messed up because of their past, can you imagine how they must’ve felt when they saw that article? devastated! b) it’s not like they haven’t done fucked up things in their youth, they can’t judge or just assume everything is a lie, and it’s not like they blindly assumed it was true because they checked with their trustable detail to before talking to them about it and c) if Moffy and Jane were to ever do cross that line, no matter how close they are to their parents, they would never go to them with this, so Ryke was right when he pointed that out. And dude, they’re parents, they’ll always worry about their children.

THE BAD:

I. The main characters.
Let’s start with Maximoff, he’s so egocentric and self-righteous, it’s really annoying how every single character worships him when it’s never shown why that is. That’s a big thing in this book actually, especially related to Moffy, we’re told he’s this incredible character but there are no facts backing that up what-so-ever, like: he’s devoted to his family, but we never see that devotion, there are scenes with his siblings, yes, and they all kiss the ground he walks on, and again, THERE IS NO REASON WHY. he’s so compassionate, but where?? What has he done in this book out of compassion? There are two good things that it’s said and also kind of shown to us about him; that he’s a CEO of a nonprofitable charity and that he’s very protective of his family, but then again, we only see that with a couple of cousins and his siblings, also it’s just mostly mentioned regarding his siblings.

And I present to you the moment I fell in love with Charlie Cobalt:

“The world believes you have no ego, but you’ve done a bang-up job of choking it down. I’m not even sure you know it’s in there.” He waves a finger towards my body, my stomach. “Slowly but surely engorging.” (…) “Tell me you see how big of a self-righteous asshole he is.”

Now Farrow, look I don’t have a big reason to dislike Farrow, he’s just annoying and not that interesting to me. One thing that I could not take it anymore was the competitiveness. Not only from Farrow, but also from Moffy – although it was shown more with Farrow -, God it was unbearable! They would make it a ‘competition’ out of everything, if one of them were seated the other couldn’t be standing up because then they would be taller, like fucking really? That’s ridiculous and I couldn’t handle it being present all the time in the narrative.

II. The romance.
Everything that I loved about the romance in Krista & Becca’s books were severely lacking in this one. In Addicted or even Aerial Ethereal, there’s always a deep connection and a slow burn-ish feel. This one was fueled by sex and since all the focus of this book were in the romance, I was surprised that it didn’t have more of a foundation in the romantic aspect.

III. Moffy and Ryke.
What the motherfucking hell was that? This is probably what frustrated me the most about this book. Ryke does not deserve this hate from Moffy at all. It was misguided and hurtful, I can’t believe this is being used as a plot device.

“(…) when I was twelve, I had a choice. I could either resent Ryke or I could love him as much as my dad does.
I chose to love him.”

No, you fucking didn’t! Because if you did, you wouldn’t be treating him like shit, for something it’s no one’s fault!

IV. The incest.
I don’t even know where to start, this is fucked up and I cannot believe it was used as a plot point, what the hell? Incest should never be a plot device! It just doesn’t get into my head, why, oh God why, would they choose to deliberately use such a topic to advance the storyline for one of the characters, that btw is part of a m/m relationship? It ends up going into the fetishlization side of the whole situation. This is wrong. Period.

I’m going to be really honest, I was expecting a lot more from this book. This was supposed to be about the three older kids, and I know it was said a while back that that changed, but I still expected to see more of them, and that didn’t happen at all. To make matters worst, there is going to be another book from their POV, and probably even a third? I don’t know how I’m going to survive this. I do realize there’s still more to Moffy and Farrow’s story, but it could’ve continued sidelined so the next books could focus on one of the other characters *cough* Sulli, Jane and Charlie *cough*.

social-icon-goodreads1social-icon-twitter1social-icon-tumblr1social-icon-insta1social-icon-pinterest1social-icon-facebook1

16 thoughts on “Review: Damaged Like Us by Krista & Becca Ritchie.

      • They have been unfollowing people critiquing them & then made a facebook post vague-ing a reviewer saying that their review made one of the cry (like, why are you reading reviews anyways ffs) cause they called out the incest stuff basically. It was a messy. K&B have been messy for a while, but they’ve gone off the charts messy recently.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dude that’s fucked up, unfortunately I can’t help but agree. Addicted is a series I hold so close to my heart, it sucks that they’re doing these things lately because it ends up ruining it a little for me… ugh, oh well

        Like

Leave a Reply

